Bunny X & Don Dellpiero featuring Kim Wilde – Perfect Paradise (Ricky Wilde Remix)

12 Apr

I want to tell you a synthwave story!

A couple of months ago I was watching Kal-Elle Jagger’s ‘Show & Tell’ on YouTube. It was a bumper episode with Bunny X but with other synthfam members popping up left right and centre as well. During the interview with Bunny X, Abigail and Mary mentioned that they had a remix album in the works. I didn’t know about that until that moment but within seconds I knew exactly what needed to happen. This project needed to bring Bunny X, my new synthwave obsession, together with my legendary Wildes (who I knew were both smitten with Bunny X’s ‘Young & In Love’ album).

So, I spoke it into being. My dearest Ricky Wilde was immediately up for the challenge and we both knew it had to be ‘Perfect Paradise’. I nervously contacted Abigail to float the idea and to my utter joy she was very much on board. I let folks chat behind the scenes to how things would work and carried on about my business.

A week or so later I’m due to be lunching with Ricky Wilde and he bounces into the kitchen and leads me into the recording studio telling me I am going to be the first person to hear the remix. This man never ceases to amaze me and what is most special is that he just doesn’t know how good he is. ‘Perfect Paradise’ was already so wonderful but within seconds of hearing his rework I felt moved to tears. He’d done it again. The track was yet further elevated to a late night Ibiza anthem with the most dazzling array of synth sounds and beats.

Fast forward to the lunch we were meeting for and he calls up darling Kim and says “come join us” (the us includes yet another insanely talented legend, Mr Steve Anderson). We’re having a lovely catch up when I mention to Kim how incredible Ricky’s remix of Bunny X is. Her reaction was priceless and instant – “I want in, I have so many ideas for this song”! Later back in the studio Steve and I are sitting on the couch whilst Ricky plays Kim the remix and what followed was one of the most memorable musical moments of my life. I watched Kim get lost in the song, closing her eyes as she took it all in and occasionally she would lean in and say something to Ricky that only he could hear. Steve and I were witnessing something I had only dreamed of – a moment of musical chemistry, a brother and sister so in sync, and it just hit me like a thunderbolt. It was other worldly. Tangibly seeing the connection was humbling.

A few days later Kim and Ricky scheduled some studio time for Kim to lay down some vocals and for Ricky to tinker and tweak as he loves to do, moving closer to what you hear today. I was fortunate to hear that finished product soon after the work was finished and I’ve been bursting to share it with you on this blog. Has Kim ever sounded better? Her voice is so gorgeous on this remix and it was like she was meant to sing with Bunny X. I am so pleased with how it has turned out and I know the Bunny X ladies and Don Dellpiero are equally thrilled – I feel there are more Wilde Bunny antics written in the stars.

This collaboration is going to bring so much joy at a time when quite frankly we could really use it. It’s my summer anthem and that’s locked in as of now. Ricky’s remix manages to be both euphoric and reflective and we just don’t want it to end. Ten minute long extended version please.

The full remix album lands this Friday and for now this track is exclusive to Bandcamp so please show your support and grab it while you can.

Thank you to my Wildes – Kim and Ricky – and to Bunny X for helping make all of our musical dreams a reality (and to Kal-Elle for Show & Tell which planted the seed). This is my perfect paradise.

Lee Bennett for Teases & Dares, April 2022

Leave a comment