Holiday Sidewinder featuring Kim Wilde – Cliffhanger

19 Jan

One of my favourite things and greatest privileges is to be able to share new music with my dear Wildes (Kim and Ricky). Both still have a voracious appetite for discovering new artists and the next great pop tune. Ricky and I are constantly popping new tunes in each other’s earholes and every now and then when I find something that I think Ms Wilde just has to hear I send to her too. A few years back I discovered and became smitten with the musical stylings of the wondrous Holiday Sidewinder. Holiday’s ‘Whispers’ was one of those tunes I shot straight into Ms Wilde’s inbox and the response was almost instant. “OMG” said Kimmy in reply to me, “who is this divine creature you’ve shared with me”. ‘Whispers’ became a firm favourite of Kim and Ricky and I reached out to Holiday to let her know about her new superstar superfan. Low and behold turns out Ms Sidewinder is the biggest Wilde fan (check the dedications on her ‘Forever Or Whatever’ album).

Fast forward to 2024 and Holiday is readying her new album ‘The Last Resort’ (out in March and up for pre-order/pre-save now). It was a dream of Holiday’s to create something with Kim and ‘Cliffhanger’ is that swoonsome collaboration we’ve been waiting for. It’s very much a Sidewinder track with Kim doing some gorgeous and distinctive backing vocals – however when given a more prominent line Kim owns the delivery – she ain’t coming back ya know. This one really whets the appetite for ‘The Last Resort’ to become our summer soundtrack – see also the previous singles ‘Ripe’ and ‘Escape and Retreat’. We think these two icons have conjured up a little musical magic and hope they get together again soon.

There’s a listening party for ‘The Last Resort’ at 5pm GMT – deets via Holiday’s bandcamp (see below)

Leave a comment