Sceenic – Mess

15 Mar

https://soundcloud.com/sceenic/mess

At Teases & Dares we are loving the jazz influence on Sceenic’s music. He just dropped a very classy new single ‘Mess’ and we were lucky enough to grab a few minutes with the fella and pose some quickfire musical questions.

sceenic

We are really enjoying your new song ‘Mess’. For us it sounds like Frank Ocean jamming with The Avalanches. Can you tell us who your major musical influences are?
“I’ll take any Frank Ocean comparison I can get haha. Influences on that track are really just me being a jazz guitar player and wanting to combine some sort of breakbeat jazz beat with accessible melodies and lyrics.” 
Your song ‘Never Coming Back’ seems to deal with smalltown blues. What can you tell us about where you grew up and the impact it has had on your music?
“Never Coming Back is exactly about that. I grew up about 30 minutes outside of Philadelphia, PA. It’s really about acknowledging how the times you had growing up in your town will never be the same again as the years go by.”
What will a Sceenic live show feel like and who would you most like to open for?
“A live show would ideally have a full horn accompanying a band. To me, those are the most memorable and dynamic shows I’ve gone to. Ideally opening for any of the up and coming artists who are blending pop with jazz and rnb. I’m a big fan of Omar Apollo right now, he’s the first artist that comes to mind for me.”

Leave a comment